Saturday, 10 September 2011

Hundreds of Clergy and Faith Leaders From Across North Carolina Call on General Assembly to Oppose Anti-LGBT Amendment — Equality North Carolina

Equality NC today released the names of nearly 250 clergy and faith leaders from across North Carolina who have, in the past two weeks, signed on to a statement publicly denouncing a proposed anti-gay constitutional amendment and calling on state lawmakers to join them in opposing the legislation. The clergy join over 500 additional people of faith every corner of the state who have also signed a public declaration against the amendment.

Spanning the mountains to the coast, the geographic list of clergy and faith leaders in opposition to a proposed constitutional amendment that would ban all legal relationship recognitions for North Carolina’s same-sex couples, represents a number of denominations including Lutheran, Episcopalian, Methodist, United Church of Christ, Presbyterian, Baptist, Reformed Church in America and Reform and Conservative movements of Judaism.

The list of signatories also includes influential faith leaders like Stan Kimer, President of the North Carolina Council of Churches (Raleigh, N.C.), Dr. Sam Roberson, General Presbyter/Stated Clerk, Charlotte Presbytery (Charlotte, N.C.), Rev. Dr. T Anthony Spearman, Chair, Religious Affairs, NC-NAACP and Senior Pastor, Clinton Tabernacle AME Zion Church (Hickory, N.C.), the Rt. Rev. Michael B. Curry, Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of North Carolina (Raleigh, N.C.), the Rt. Rev. Clifton Daniel, Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of East Carolina (Kinston, N.C.), The Rt. Rev. G. Porter Taylor, Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Western North Carolina (Asheville, N.C.), and Bishop Tonyia M. Rawls, Prelate of the Southern Jurisdiction, Unity Fellowship Church Movement (Charlotte, N.C.).

Enhanced by Zemanta

No comments:

Post a Comment